Attractions in Trincomalee

Entdecken Sie die bezaubernde Stadt Trincomalee, eine lebendige Siedlung am Meer von Sri Lankas Nordostküste. Lange Zeit galt Trinco als der größte natürliche Tiefseehafen der Welt und hat dadurch viele berühmte Seefahrer an seine Ufer gelockt, darunter Marco Polo und Ptolemaeus. Die Region ist übersät mit einer Vielzahl natürlicher und kultureller Sehenswürdigkeiten, die darauf warten, entdeckt zu werden.

Trincomalee steht für unberührten weißen Sand und glänzendes, saphirfarbenes Wasser und genau so können Sie es an den berühmten Stränden Nilaveli und Uppuveli vorfinden, die 6 km bzw. 16 km außerhalb der Stadt liegen. Das kristallklare Wasser bietet umfangreiche Wassersportmöglichkeiten, wie Tauchen, Schnorcheln, Surfen, Fischen und Walbeobachtung.  Direkt vor der Küste Nilavelis liegt das berühmte Pigeon Island, eine felsige kleine Insel und pulsierender Brutplatz für die Felsentaube.

Erleben Sie den Glanz des Koneswaram Hindu Tempels, eine symbolische Ehrung des Gottes Shiva in der hinduistischen Kosmologie. Über dem Eingang des Tempels befindet sich ein verzierter und bunter Gopuram (Torturm), der den üppigen südindischen architektonischen Stil aufgreift, der typisch für viele Hindutempel auf der ganzen Welt ist.

Die heißen Quellen in Kanniyai liegen nur ca. 8 km von Trinco Stadt entfernt. Steinwände umschließen sieben Quellen, die für ihre therapeutische Wirkung bekannt sind und zum Eintauchen einladen.

Trincomalee ist eine lebendige sri-lankische Stadt, in der man unvergessliche Momente erleben kann, die ein Leben lang bleiben. Entdecken Sie die Wunder Trincomalees!

Book Online
Book Now
close

Please note that the Rupee rate (LKR) is valid for Sri Lankans only. The Sri Lankan National ID is required to proceed with the LKR rates. For more information please visit Terms and Conditions

Sri Lankan Nationality Validation

Please enter the below details

Proceed
* Your NIC or DOB information is not stored and is used for validation only

Trincomalee

Discover the enchanting town of Trincomalee, a vibrant city by the sea on Sri Lanka’s north eastern coast. Long regarded as one of the finest natural deepwater harbours in the world, Trinco has attracted some famous seafarers to its shores, such as Marco Polo and Ptolemy. The region is awash with a multitude of natural and cultural attractions in Trincomalee ripe for discovery.

Trincomalee is synonymous with pristine white sands and sparkling sapphire waters, and you will discover these priceless elements on the famous Nilaveli and Uppuveli beaches, located 6km and 16km respectively out of the town. These crystalline waters offer ample opportunities for water sports such as scuba-diving, snorkelling, surfing, fishing and whale-watching. Just off the coast of Nilaveli is the famous Pigeon Island, a rocky little islet that is a bustling breeding ground for the blue rock pigeons.

Experience the splendour of the Koneswaram Hindu Temple, which is an iconic tribute to the deity of Shiva in Hindu cosmology. The temple features an ornate and colourful Gopuram (a monumental tower) poised above its entrance, which captures the opulent South Indian style of architecture of many Hindu temples across the globe.

The hot springs at Kanniyai are situated a short 8km from Trinco’s city proper. Stone walls enclose seven springs, which offer the visitor a sublime plunge in warm waters famed for their therapeutic properties.

Trincomalee is a lively Sri Lankan city where you can create unforgettable memories that will last a lifetime, so come and explore its wonders.